Online Dating Commercials

One of my favorite commercials which ran a couple of years back was a couple meeting the daughter’s parents for the first time.  When the parents asked where the guy met their daughter, the guy said Paris and the girl said something else at the same time…(or maybe it was the other way around).  Either way, the young couple broke the news to the parents that they met online.

I remember back in the day when I signed up, there were no such commercials.  People were expected to dress up and go to bars in small wolf-like packs and hunt prey like our ancestors did.  Now I feel online dating is more “the norm”.  Ok, maybe not the norm, but a least not a complete mystery.  I didn’t even know what it was was until I actually sat down and saw the interface right before my eyes.  Even though the negative stigma has lessened over the years, there are still some people that wont even try it.

Looking at these commercials makes me a wee bit nostalgic.  Personally, I love the match.com commercials.  True they only seem to use the best looking people that found eachother, but I love the idea that there is someone out there for everyone.  eHarmony is pretty good too, finding their niche saying quality over quantity.

What does everyone think of online dating commercials?  Does it make you want to go out and join?

Leave a Reply

