Online dating …for seniors!

Picture taken by Gary Robinson of Gary Robinson.

Picture taken by Gary Robinson of Gary Robinson. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hi there!  I apologize to all for being on blog hiatus, but my sister came down from New York to visit and lets just say I was either too drunk, too hung-over, or too comatose from overeating and couldn’t possibly keep up with my blogging.  Needless to say, it was fun-fun-fun!!

While LBS (Little Big Sis for those not in the know), was down, we created an OkCupid online dating profile for our mother.  We posted some pics of her visiting a flamingo park and looking superfantastic.  After we finished setting up her pics, profile, and her significant other requisites, we got to searching.  We found some nice older gentlemen out there and are crossed our fingers that they reply to our mother’s flirty one-liner email.

The following day I, of course being mom’s co-ghostwriter/dating filter, checked any messages she got… and boy was I in for a surprise.  Our sweet adoring mother had a handful of messages, one from a respectable gentleman (who unfortunately lived 200 miles away), and the rest from gentlemen too young for even myself to date.  I’m talking 22, 25, and 32 year olds who stated they have a penchant for “mature women”.  Can we say ewwwww?!  Are these guys just looking for sugar mamas?

After I threw up a little in my mouth, I rechecked the profile to make sure we put in the correct requisites in a partner.  Sure enough…we did.  When I was online dating I would get crazies from all over the place that did not match what I was looking for, but the majority would at least somewhat fit the short list.

Does anyone out there have experience with online dating 55+ year old individuals?  I would love to hear your stories and the best sites you recommend.  Or better yet, is there a single unattached older gentleman living in the South Florida area who is looking to go on long walks during the day and watch horror movies at night?  Keep me posted!

PS: Who is this Gary Robinson (in the attached pic), and is he single??

Leave a Reply

