Cheddar biscuits made easy…

Hello!  Not too long ago I made these buttery cheddar biscuits and just had to share.  They are filled with cheddar, butter, and all things extra tasty.  Hope you enjoy them as much as I did!:

What you need:

2 cups flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

2 teaspoons salt

1 stick (unsalted) butter…melted and slightly cooled

2 eggs

1 cup extra sharp cheddar (shredded)

1 cup buttermilk (make sure to shake before you pour out)

1 teaspoon onion powder

splash of water

How to do it:

Set oven to 450 degrees.  Melt stick of butter and set aside.  In a large bowl, mix together flour, salt, onion powder, and baking powder until fully combined (I used my fingers).  Set aside.  Then mix the buttermilk with 1 egg until fully combined (used a fork).  Set aside.  Make a well in the center of the flour mixture and combine buttermilk mixture and slightly cooled melted butter.  Mix until all ingredients are incorporated.  Then add the cheese and mix in gently.  Line a baking pan with foil and use either a little left over butter or some oil (I used extra virgin olive oil I had on hand), to grease foil so biscuits don’t stick.  Get an ice cream scoop and place biscuit mixture on pan leaving around 1 inch of space in between each biscuit.  In a separate bowl, mix together remaining egg with a generous splash of water.  Brush egg wash on tops of biscuit for a shiny finish.  Stick in 450 degree oven for around 20-22 minutes.

Cheddar biscuit montage:

First things first, because you are going to be handling cheese, pour yourself a nice glass of wine.  It makes for a happy cook.  Then, get to gratin’

a little cheddar for the biscuits, and a little cheddar for my wine… yum yum yum

You like my housewife cheese grater?  I think my mom found this treasure in the dollar store…it always makes grating a little more fun.

After mixing in the wets into the drys, it’s time to add the cheese!

“Why hello there, nice to meet you.” said the cheese to the flour. “Hey there yourself”

I hate intense clean up, that’s why I take preventative measures like lining my pan with foil.

Use an ice cream scoop for same size biscuits

Look at them getting their bake on in the oven… by the way, house is starting to smell delicious

sizzle sizzle

This is what they looked like out of the oven (22 min or so later)

They only spread out a little

Let them cool a couple minutes.  And then… taaa daaaa

Couldn’t resist…hence the bite mark

So easy to do without any heavy duty cooking equipment needed.  Feed to your spouse, a hot online date you want to make yours, and most importantly…yourself!

Tell me what you think.

Would love to hear from you!

6 responses to “Cheddar biscuits made easy…

  1. These look like the ones from Red Lobster!!! I’m going to have to try to make them sometime!! =)

  2. Cheese + biscuit = 🙂
    These look fab!

Leave a comment